Akalibrio is an ongoing musical project that got its start several years ago in Jim Warner’s home studio in Chicago, IL. With the help of some of Chicago’s most accomplished artists, those songwriting sessions turned into a full-fledged professional recording project.

With an undying passion for composition, Jim began collaborating with engineer/pianist, Dave Dever, and vocalist/pianist/songwriter, John Jones for what would become the first batch of songs to be completed. This brought to attention the need for other musicians to help expand the sound. Enter Neal Alger. Neal is the busiest guitarist in the city, and for no small reason. His diverse musical abilities helped the group get the sound they were looking for, no matter what the style. Later, Neal and Jim would begin writing an entire new collection of songs.

Regardless of the collaborator, these songs required more musicians to help their jazz, intelli-pop based sound flourish. The sessions moved to akalibrio studios in Lincoln Park for about a year and were engineered by Josh Richter. Josh brought a new level of professionalism to the project. He also helped expand the musician base by invitingErnie Adams (drums and percussion), Marcin Fahmy (piano and keyboards) and Jeff Hanley (bass) to the sessions. This resulted in the impressive rhythm section of the band today.

These musicians hear chord voicings and rhythmic grooves beyond what was included in the demo versions. This added a level of sophistication to the compositions themselves, and to, of course, the records. It was also clear that the Akalibrio studio would be used for compositional purposes only. These artists needed to be captured at the best facility. Enter Chicago Recording Company, the best recording studio in Chicago. We are proud to work with Ron Lowe and Steve Weeder at CRC.

Standout vocalists like Cheryl Wilson, Malcolm Palmer, Paulinho Garcia, Ryan Behling, Mari Anne Jayme, Christina Tamayo, Satya and more, are complimented with superior musicianship from Dave Hiltebrand, drummer Kevin Marks, percussionist Geraldo De Oliveira, cellist Tomeka Summers Reid, guitarist Dale Prasco, saxophonists Steve Eisen and Dan Nicholson, trumpeters Mark Ohlsen and Kirk Garrison (flugel as well), French Horn player Julia Zeltzer and harmonica legend Howard Levy.

We hope you enjoy the first two albums. There will be more music released soon!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt